Alexander Nevsky Monastery

Alexander Nevsky Laura The Alexander Nevsky Monastery is also known as Alexander Nevsky Laura, with laura being the highest rank for a monastery.

In pre-revolutionary Russia there were only four such lauras including the Alexander Nevsky Monastery which was awarded this rank in 1797. It was named after the great warrior, Prince of Novgorod, Alexander Nevsky (1220-1263) on the occasion of his canonization.

The main entrance to the monastery is embellished by a graceful gate church (architect Ivan Stasov, 1783-1785), and beyond it there are several graveyards. To the left of the main entrance lies the 18th-century Lazarevskoye Cemetery, the oldest in the city. It came into being soon after the foundation of the monastery in 1716 when Natalya Alexeyavna, the sister of Peter the Great, was buried here. Many eminent figures in Russian culture, such as the scholar Mikhail Lomonosov and the architects Andrei Voronikhin, Andreyan Zakharov and Carlo Rossi, lie at rest here.

To the right of the main entrance you will see the Tikhvinskoe Cemetery. Here on the gravestones you will find the names of the composers Mikhail Glinka, Pyotr Tchaikovsky, Modest Mussorgsky, Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov, the write Fyodor Dostoevsky, the artist Alexander Ivanov, the architect Vasily Stasov, the sculptor Pyotr Klodt and other prominent figures in science and arts.

Saint Petersburg (Russian: Санкт-Петербург) is the second largest city in Russia. It is located on the Neva River at the head of the Gulf of Finland on the Baltic Sea. St Petersburg is often described as the most westernized city of Russia, as well as its cultural capital.It is the northernmost city in the world with a population of over one million.

Population: 5 197 114 (2015)
Founded : 1703
Time zone : UTC+4
Federal District : Northwest
Area code : (00 7) 812
Postal code : 190000-199406
Former name : Petrograd (1914-1924)
Former name : Leningrad (1924-1991)