Kamennoostrovsky Prospekt (Stone Island Avenue, russian: Каменноостровский проспект) is sometimes called the Gallery of Art Nouveau. This is primarily due to the fact that there are so many exquisite buildings of this architectural style. Most of them were created by distinguished architects at the turn of the 20th century when this style was all the rage.
Kamennoostrovsky Prospekt is one of the oldest streets in the city and is truly one of its most beautiful avenues.
In the 18th century, the Avenue was the road that led to Sweden.
The avenue stretches from the South to the North and begins with the Troitskaya (Trinity) Square. Trinity square is the first area of the city. In the center of this square in the years 1703 to 1710 year Domenico Trezzini built a church. The church was designed to commemorate the victory over the Swedes at Vyborg, and was named in honor of the Holy Trinity. For a long time, the Holy Trinity Cathedral was the main Cathedral of the City and the place where royal decrees were announced. Troop parades, festivals and masquerades were held in this square. It was here in 1721 that celebrations were held to mark the end of the Great Northern War and concluding peace with Sweden. Also here, October 22, 1721 Peter the Great was given the title of Emperor.
By 1730s the area loses its importance, as the port and administrative center are moved to Vasilievsky Island.
In 1903, the Trinity Square was connected to the other bank of the River Neva by the new Trinity Bridge.
Since 1918, the area became known as the square of the Communards, in 1923, the Square of the Revolution. In 1928, the Holy Trinity Cathedral was closed, and in 1930 it was demolished. In 1991, the area was returned its historic name.
Kamennoostrovsky prospect, starting from the Trinity Square, cuts through a broad array of Alexander's Green Park alley. The main part of the avenue between neighborhoods multistory construction Petrograd andPharmacy Islands and stone island. Stone island and gave the name of the highway.
The architectural appearance of different internal unity and at the same time, the scenic variety. He is seen as a holistic ensemble with its rhythmic structure and unique silhouette. A central role in thespatial composition of the play corner towers buildings, topped with domes and spires. Visible from afar, it seems as if they are consistent with each other in the run line.
Avenue was formed gradually, in stages. The name Kamennoostrovsky Avenue was named in the early nineteenth century. His forthright direction has determined the General Plan of Saint-Petersburg,1831. The plan also included the device three squares at the intersections with Kronverkskim Avenue,street of peace and a great Avenue of St. Petersburg (Petrograd) side.
Highway completely changed its appearance at the beginning of the 20th century, after the discoveryof the Trinity Bridge. Then there was intensive construction. Here have grown comfortable and representative tenement houses, entertainment agencies. They are the best in design of Art Nouveauand neoclassical.
House No. 1-No. 3 was built in 1899-1904 by Fyodor Ivanovich Lidval's project. The architect built it for his mother, there lived a family of Lidvalls. The picturesque silhouette of building with different height chassis, frames the half open landscaped yard-Cour. Apartment house Lidvalls is separated from the street of elegant bars with two gates. The building is considered one of the most interesting architectural monuments of the Northern Art Nouveau. At the end of the Avenue, closer to the stone island is another House, built on the draft Lidvall. This is the home of no. 61. In 1907, F.i. Lidvall received honorary diploma of the City Council of the contest of the best façade. In 1913, built the right link building from the street, Vologda added developed yard wings. Corner part of the building was a high tower with a viewing tower. The six floors of the building, the architect has placed on three large apartments in five, six and seven rooms. Each apartment has a dining room, living room and Office. For the convenience of the occupants in the House arranged lifts. Description of the building, as well as House Nos. 1-3, entered in the training courses on architecture.
The House is at the beginning of Avinguda Lidvall mansion of the Minister of finance and Chairman of the Committee of Ministers, Sergey Yul'evich Vitte Nicholas II. After the revolution in the mansionwere preventive outpatient and day children's sanatorium. In 1935, running children's music school.
At no. 10 is the lenfilm Studio. In the past there was a theme garden Aquarium, with the theatre, the Palace of ice, greenhouses and pavilions. May 4, 1896 year it hosted the first in Russia film session.
Kamennoostrovsky Avenue crosses the unique octagonal square. Even in the 19th century there wereplots of land with gardens and kitchen gardens, wood with a stone bottom one-and two-storybuildings. Originally the area was an arched shape. In the 1890 's, the area of pereplanirovali, it has become multifaceted. She had no name, on maps it was called simply Area or playground. The areawas named Austrian October 29, 1992 year